Transferring a Maryland legal gun to Black Anchor Armory in Denton, Maryland is a simple, straight forward process. We charge $52.00 each non-Maryland regulated firearms and $26.00 for each additional firearms at the time(plus a $11 Maryland State Police fee) for Maryland regulated firearms (all hand guns) from other gun shops, businesses and transfers from individuals holding a valid FFL.
Please review the follow terms carefully as it could impact your transfer request:
We will transfer all Maryland legal new and used firearms regardless if we stock it or not. All firearms must be Maryland compliant. Maryland compliant handguns must be listed on the Maryland Handgun Roster (or be manufactured prior to 1985). A current Maryland Handgun Roster is located here.
Maryland State Police has a new online firearms search feature which lets you review if a particular firearm is Maryland compliant. Click here to view the page.
If the firearm is new, and if manufactured after 2002 it must be equipped with a Maryland approved “Integrated Mechanical Safety Device”.
Current Maryland gun laws can be reviewed here (note, this is a Wikipedia page so if in any doubt please contact Maryland State Police). If you do not know if a gun is Maryland legal, we highly recommend you contact Maryland State Police.
FFL Transfer Request Process:
Whoever you buy your gun from, they are going to need a copy of our FFL in order to ship the gun to us. Upon your request, we will review the transfer information and upon our approval by us we will send the FFL holder a copy of our FFL license. Please e-mail us your FFL Transfer Request (our FFL e-mail: email@example.com) and include the following information:
Dealer / Individual name that firearm was purchased from Dealer / Individual phone number Dealer / Individual e-mail address Manufacturer / Model of firearm purchased (this will be reviewed by us for approval) Invoice Number (If applicable) Your Name Your Phone Number
After we accept your FFL request and we e-mail the seller a copy of our FFL license, they will ship the gun to us for you to pick up. It is your responsibility to make sure the seller ships out your gun in a timely fashion once they have our FFL license. Be sure to have them include two (2) things with the gun:
A copy of their FFL or a copy of their drivers license if not a dealer. Your name and phone number
Firearm Pickup Process:
After your gun has been received and processed into our system, we will call you to let you know that the gun is ready for paperwork (Maryland regulated firearm – hand gun) or paperwork and pick up (long guns).
For long gun transfers, you will need a valid Maryland photo ID (drivers license) and will need to fill out a Federal Form 4473 for the background check. Once your background check is approved, you can pay the transfer fee and take your gun.
For Maryland regulated transfers (hand guns) you will need a valid Maryland photo ID (drivers license), a Maryland HQL license, will need to fill out a Federal Form 4473 and Maryland regulated firearm paperwork. Once all your federal and state background checks are approved we will contact you to come back into our store and pay your transfer fee and take your gun.
TRANSFERS WILL BE HELD FOR 45 DAYS UNLESS A LONGER TIME IS APPROVED BY BLACK ANCHOR ARMORY. ANY GUN LEFT AFTER 45 DAYS WITHOUT CONTACT BY YOU (THE BUYER) WILL BECOME THE PROPERTY OF BLACK ANCHOR ARMORY.
If you would like to transfer a Maryland legal gun through our shop to another FFL holder, we charge $52.00 per Gun and $26.00 for each additional firearm at the same time, plus shipping and packing materials costs.
We look forward to being your choice when it comes to your gun transfer needs.
Looking to sell your used or newly acquired firearm? Have a death in your family and want to sell off the firearms legally? We have a large number of active collectors and buyers who visit our store weekly to inspect recently consigned firearms. Showcase your firearm on consignment with us and get it sold fast!
To get started, contact us and share what you are looking to sell. We will discuss what you have and whether we think we can do a good job selling it for you. If we agree that we are a good match for your needs bring your unloaded firearm to the store to start the process. Once in store, we will review with you our simple one page consignment agreement. You set the price and we will begin to sell your firearm immediately. Note, we will not take items on consignment at prices that we think are unrealistic.
During the consignment period we are responsible for the security and safety of your items in our possession. Your firearm will receive the same care and secure storage as our own personal inventory. When your firearm has been sold you will receive a check or cash for the sale price less the determined commission (our rate is typically 15% plus any selling fees — Gun Broker fees or credit card fees for example).
Current Gun Broker Listing Fees and Optional Listing Tool Service Final Value Fees, First $250 is at 6% ($15.00) Everything over that is at 3.5%
We offer appraisal services to help identify and value of firearms for sale, estate, or insurance purposes. We charge $50 per half hour of research time. Researching Manufacturing dates, Proof Marks, or any other unique markings can take some extra time, and may require the firearm to be left with us for further review. Appointments are recommended